Hey guys, the last few years I've been messing around with replacing parts on guitars and rewiring them. Now I think its time to step it up and refinish a guitar. so as my next project I'm gonna swirl paint a guitar i picked up from the local pawn shop.(its an Ibanez SA120 Paid 200,and it's in mint condition,only problem with it was it had 2 master volume controls.but that's fixed)

Right now I'm just doing some research. And when I do find the time to do it I'll try to post pics of how it goes..I've got a good idea hows it's done, But naturally I got a couple questions since I've never done this before, mainly on prepping and final finishing of the guitar..

1)What would be the best and easiest way of prepping the guitar, am i going to have to go right down to bare wood? or can i get away with removing just the clear-coat then applying a primer?

2)How should I remove the paint and clear coat, with a chemical stripper or sand it?
The stripper is sounding Like the easy way to go here

3)when its been swirled, i need to clear coat it right? how difficult is that gonna be?

4)Does the temp of the water really affect the swirling process? I've heard mixed answers on this

Very Orange CARVIN DC 700
PRS SE Custom - crunch lab&PAF pro
Ibanez GRX40 - modified
Peavey Valveking 112 w/ 2x12 cab

Originally Posted by Shirate
The guitar, the only beautiful female that looks better with the top ON haha

Transformice
1. Just sand lightly with 320 to key the surface. If you sand to the wood, you're going to have to prep the surface again... which means sealer and undercoat (not primer, since you already have a primed surface).

2. Sand. Chemical stripper is awful.

3. Yes. You need to clear coat it with something like nitro or 2K. Nitro is a little safer, but shrinks and takes ages to cure. 2K is quicker, but quite dangerous and you'd have to have decent PPE. There's going to be a lot of wet sanding too.