I'm new to guitars and I picked up a MII bullet yesterday from amazon. Got to inspecting it today and the action was really high the neck was bowed I believe. So I tried tightening the truss rod to help straighten it out but that didn't seem to work. I loosened the rod and took the strings it came with off and the neck still bows up a bit. Here's a few pics of the bow. I really like the look of the guitar but if the neck is messed up I'll have to return it. Right now it's stringless and still bowing
Quote by ChanceCA
I can't attach pictures because they're too large

Just to clarify the neck has concave or a slight u to it.
I restrung the guitar and tightened the nut for the truss rod and it looks straighter. I think the issue was me. I didn't tighten it enough with the stock strings. How tight is too tight on the nut? It took two fingers with some torque to start to see it straighten
You're new to guitars and you started tightening the truss rods...have you read up on adjusting the neck? From the sounds of it you're doing everything wrong. Two biggest issue
1. You check for neck bow by measuring, not looking although a very badly bowed neck will still be visible. But your guitar strings are the best/simplest way to do it. Press the first and last frets of the guitar to check for neck straightness.
2. Never turn the truss rod more than a quarter(or even less) at a time and always leave some time (half an hour maybe more) between adjusting.

If what I just said to you are new concepts to you, stop right now and either read up on guitar set-up a lot or take it to a tech.
I did read up on it but the guides I had read didn't flat out say not to do more then 1/4 either way at once. Right now the truss is probably as tight as it should go and the neck seems straight if I lay a ruler from 1st to 12th fret it looks like it touches each fret. If it is fully tightened should I loosen 1/4th turn?