Noob here.

I've started recording a cover with reaper. I'm using Podfarm.

I'm trying to record in sections. So far I've laid down the first 16 bars on 5 tracks (2 double tracked rhythms 1 lead).

When I go to record the next section (say rhythm guitar 1), I press record a little bit before to get into the click. When I do this it is overriding my old take so on playback it only is playing the new take.

How do I get it so it'll only start recording where I want it to? To avoid this overlap

Cheers
Quote by SlackerBabbath
My ideal woman would be a grossly overweight woman who would happy go jogging, come home all sweaty and let me put my dick under her armpit while she shuffles a pack of cards.

Stay classy, pit.
If you right click the metronome button, there's a checkbox for "pre-roll before recording", enable that. Then it'll play for a bit before you record (you don't have to have it beat-sync'd or the metronome on for this to work).
****ing legend.

Thank you SO much man.
Quote by SlackerBabbath
My ideal woman would be a grossly overweight woman who would happy go jogging, come home all sweaty and let me put my dick under her armpit while she shuffles a pack of cards.

Stay classy, pit.
Is it bad that I thought Australian the moment I saw ****ing legend, and only then did I look at your location?
Not at all
Quote by SlackerBabbath

Stay classy, pit.
How about just doing it on another track and assemblind the final take?

I think Reaper does multitakes as "layers" or something like that, I think I recall that there was an option in the presets somewhere to enable the previous layer to play through or something like that...not 100$ sure though.
the layers are super confusing for me so I avoid them at all costs

I think there are 2 ways to do what u want to do.

1) if it is set to "record normally" (default) then you can just put the cursor where u want the recording to start. When u hit "record" it will back it up some anyway so u can get the timing.