I wonder if anyone has experienced a huge difference in playing their instruments standing up as opposed to sitting down. I ask this because even when I have been playing for a couple of years, I never stop feeling it way too hard to play while standing up.

I never seem to find the right height for the guitar so my left hand feels comfortable on the neck; I find myself gripping the neck too hard, and I recently noticed my thumb laying horizontally on the back of it, which results in difficulty to change chords/power chords.

It also becomes really hard for me to play lead guitar when I'm standing, for some reason. Whenever I do, I find it hard for both my left and right hand to adjust comfortably. I wonder if there's anuything I can do to improve this, as I'm tired of feeling I have had my guitar for two weeks.
Last edited by GMx at Sep 14, 2014,
I for one experienced the exact same thing when i first started playing. I think a huge thing that helped me was just as Arron posted: raise the strap. It may take a little while but as long as you keep toying with it youll find that spot that just feels right. Dont get caught up in trying to "look cool" with your guitar slung low. I would start with the strap on its highest setting and work your way down to your "happy place". That sounds dirty but ive found it to be effective. Practice will help loads so dont get discouraged. Dont kill the neck! Your guitar may need to be balanced so that it stays in a playable position even if you let go. You shouldnt have to bear the weight of the guitar as well as play. Too much work! Hope that helps! Cheers!
Never gonna give you up...
Raise the strap, so you get the guitar in the same position as it is when you're sitting down. This should make your problems go away.
playing the cello standing up is hilarious

Quote by Arron_Zacx
Raise the straps or practice playing standing up.

seriously, though, pretty much this