Hey guys, im a classical guitarist looking to start getting into the jazz genre, so does anyone know any good jazz standards or songs to play on guitar?
There's a few great ones - sorry can't quite remember them now.

The best ones usually work with the ii V I chord progression. So Amin, D7, Gmaj, Dmin7, G7, C then start again.
Depends on what type of jazz.

Some of my favorites though are: Misty, How Deep is the Ocean, Beautiful Love, Stella By Starlight, All The Things You Are, Satin Doll, April In Paris, Night And Day.

I would recommend checking out the following players for solo jazz guitar: Joe Pass, Jody Fisher, Barney Kessel, Erik Söderlind, Larry Koonse, George Van Eps, Kenny Burrell, Royce Campbell, Jonathan Kreisberg and Dave Stryker.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
Quote by Sickz
Depends on what type of jazz.

Some of my favorites though are: Misty, How Deep is the Ocean, Beautiful Love, Stella By Starlight, All The Things You Are, Satin Doll, April In Paris, Night And Day.

I would recommend checking out the following players for solo jazz guitar: Joe Pass, Jody Fisher, Barney Kessel, Erik Söderlind, Larry Koonse, George Van Eps, Kenny Burrell, Royce Campbell, Jonathan Kreisberg and Dave Stryker.

Thanks sickz ill definetly check those guys out!
Last edited by Infinitychord95 at Sep 15, 2014,
Quote by Infinitychord95
Thats okay, but if you do remember some it would be very helpful

I'm old and weird - I print out and keep all the songs I like to play in a folder. I'll have a look through later and post what songs I like to play the most.

While jazz comes from blues - I much prefer it than blues. It's more fun and sounds great.
Quote by flaaash