Hi All,

I'm Morphitis, a solo heavy rock and metal outfit from the UK. At present my tracks are all instrumental but I plan on finding a vocalist in the not too distant future. A link to my first track is in my signature and I plan on having a theme across all of my tracks.

One of the challenges I have at the moment is trying to create a story or write lyrics for my tracks. Do you guys use any techniques in particular to help you get the ball rolling when it comes to lyrics?

I'd really appreciate any advice you can give me or what you use to improve your lyric writing as well as your views on my track.

Many thanks, M
Howdy man,
I know exactly what you're trying to do and for me personally I had a big help from listening to concept albums, especially Coheed and Cambria and the Amory Wars (hence my user name). I've really tried not to copy, but just apply the same style of writing to my band Synesthesia. I'm a drawer and painter as well as guitar player so a lot of my art gets turned into poetry, which becomes songs, which in turn fuels our concept story line.

As far as what to actually write about, its all on what you enjoy. Try to find a genre you really enjoy and READ it. That's one of the biggest helpers is that educated people create more elaborate and deeper stories and lyrics. Look at bands like Iron Maiden where almost all their tracks are based off literature and tell me those songs aren't awesome. Once you're well read on something then you can begin tackling your own story.

Hope this helps man. Good luck.
Also just my quick list of lyric rules that I use personally:

1. Don't rhyme the same word in consecutive lines. If at all possible avoid rhyming the same sound more than twice in a stanza.
2. Use a thesaurus to help you with words that could have a better term for them, but don't use words so big even you don't understand them. Its not cheating to have help.