Hello everyone,

Here is a youtube link to some of my band's songs. We're kind of a different band and have some progressive and black metal elements in some of our songs as well, though those weren't recorded.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIuejv85Xt0&list=PL6mvpdZxNDiNcHUmqx8zfoLcoBFKs9GMd

I was curious from you guys on the quality of the recordings, not necessarily the music itself. I won't say that I'm an expert on the recording and mixing/mastering, but I attempted to do all of it and think it came through pretty well. It doesn't sound completely done, like some metal band on a record deal but how could I make it closer?

I have a condensor mic and a vocal mic ($100 total) that we used to record and then didn't do much in the area of mastering. If we took all of the tracks and actually recorded with better microphones and gave them to someone to master do you think that they would come through professionally and save us loads of money on a recording studio setup?

Thanks
I wouldn't say that I am an expert either, but I do a (recently acquired) degree in Digital Recording. Here are the best tips that I can think off from the first listen.

First off I would say that just b/c a mic costs a lot of money ($100 mic is not expensive, just so you know) doesn't automatically make it better. One of my favorite mics to use on guitar cabs is an Audix OM2 and you can get them for as low as $45 used. Also on the topic of mics, there is no "perfect" mic for all occasions. You need to get as many different types of mics as possible and test them out. You might use a mic on your guitar amp that I do not use, but you could love the sound that you get.