Does anyone have any experience in this? It seems no matter what I do it's either too quiet or it clips from me hitting the guitar. I'm trying to record Hunters Moon by Andy Mckee and can't even get a good raw recording. I have no experience or idea with compressing/normalising either. My mic placement is alright, facing around between the 12th and 14th fret about a foot or so away. I'll get to things like EQ and reverb later for now I just need the levels to be set.

Edit: The gear I'm using is:
- Fender NAT something or other acoustic (cheap $200)
- Perception 220 large diaphragm condenser mic
- Reaper (trial ver)
- Windows 7
Last edited by Jimjambanx at Sep 18, 2014,
Clips of what you're getting and what you would wanna change would help us helping you.

As a general rule, if ya ask me, to record acoustic guitars you should put your mic nearer the guitar unless your room sounds good.
Something like 5 to 10cm (around 2 to 4") perpendicularly to the guitar, in front of the neck joint, possibly a bit angled towards the soundhole, and possibly with a LPF engaged on the mic.

Then the rest comes from technique - you can't expect your recordings to be good if you don't sound just as good in real life, so mind the dynamics when you play.

To set your levels simply hit the guitar hard and set the input gain so it doesn't clip even when you do that.

You though will need a better guitar, a better mic, possibly a better sounding room and arguably a better technique to sound like andy mckee.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.