Hi,

I'm a beginner/intermediate on playing electric guitar. I mostly play hard rock or heavy metal songs and planning to the same in the future.

I have a question about using my little finger for power chords on E-Standart. I only use my index finger and my little finger (as finger 1 and finger 4) for power chords even for three string power chords... Example for a G5 chord; my index finger is on 3rd fret of the E string, and my little finger is on 5th frets of both A and D strings. I can not manage to do it other way with three fingers using my ring finger. Is this a bad thing?

I have been playing some kind of an ethnic folk music instrument for years. It has got three sets of strings. And it has got a chord system that is very similar to power chords with that three strings. And in its technique, we only use index finger and little finger to get power chord like sound, and we use it very much...

So, long story short, i am used to play power chords this way.. I can not change it.. Is it bad for learning guitar??

Thank you..

---
Last edited by noldor at Sep 18, 2014,
For power chords you'd probably be fine using this technique as long as you are still muting the other strings. However, being able to play power chords with 3 fingers will also translate somewhat into being able to play other types of chords using 3-4 fingers. Power chords can make some great songs but there are so many other sounds you can get out of a guitar with other types of chords.

I don't know what hard rock you are talking about, but a lot of hard rock uses other types of chords (Led Zeppelin being the obvious example). Most metal is power chords though or chords very similar to power chords.
Quote by bptrav