I don't have much right now and I'm just learning (coming back to it after years). I have a Peavey Bandit 112 and a Boss Metal Zone. The Metal Zone is great for some specific things but has and awful tone. I was looking for something that can do mild distortion all the way to a death/black metal type distortion but still keeping a good tone. I've been tempted by the Tube Screamer but I don't think will be enough. Also, my amp has a lot of feedback when the gain is past 6 or 7 so if I could lessen that it would be great. I'm not against multi-effects pedals but my budget is around $150. Thanks.
Try to find a used Line 6 Pod pedal. One of the big ones with an expression pedal. You won't need the expression pedal necessarily for what you're going for, but those models have way better tones. Should be able to get something good for that price, used. Long term though, save some money and get a good high-gain amp. Pedals can only sound as good as your amp lets them, and really shouldn't be used for the entirety of your OD/distortion tone. Get an amp with a good distortion tone, and enhance it with pedals, if you want.
What you really need is a new amp.

You'll not be able to get a really good and convincing tone out of that amp even with a very good pedal.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
A new amp is what you need.