hey guys! i've recently been working on writing better solos with the purpose of using them in my band. i've been experimenting with playing different scales in every key possible. this video is basically just some ideas and melodic phrases ive been messing around with. please share your thoughts even if it's not your style. thanks!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK90hvQaD2E
bad tone, hard to say how much of it is the amp/guitar but the finger tone needs a LOT of work

and solos are a really, really small part of a good song. honestly, a lot of people could do without them in 99% of songs and it either wouldn't affect the song or it'd improve them

not everything has to sound like the F Zero soundtrack
thanks for your feedback! i will definitely keep that in mind when writing solos, i'm actually kinda new to this style of music. Coming from a classical guitar background, i'm so used to having a lot going on at once that it translates into other types of playing lol
@Hail, yeah the tone you're hearing is coming from a crappy practice amp that i keep in my room. my main rig sounds far from bad. this is not an actual song, just some patterns and ideas i've been working on. F Zero rules! lol
As previously said, vibrato and bends are the main issue i can see here. Also phrasing, the playing in the video is the equivalent of reading a book without using any punctuation.

On a more personal note, you something you want to experiment with. (Since i don't know if this was a conscious choice or not) When you do land on a bit longer notes in this recording, many times those are notes that are more tense, notes that are not in the chord. You might want to experiment with landing those on chord tones instead to get a stronger end to a phrase. As said though, i don't know if you did that intentionally cause you enjoy tension more. But something to keep in mind.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan