I've seen a lot of similar threads to this, but didn't want to hijack anyone else's thread with my own problems. I'm new here, and rarely ask advice online, but this problem has been eating me up inside and causing me sleepless nights, so here goes (sorry it's so long!).

I've been in a band for the last nine months and things are reaching a crisis point. A couple of months ago we started gigging around our local area, and everybody seems to have gone off the boil. Up until the first gig, we practice three times every week, and now we're lucky if we meet once a week. It feels like everyone now thinks "great, we're getting gigs. We can stop trying now.", whereas I think that if anything, we need to put more into it so we can start getting PAID gigs, something that so far we haven't had.

That's just the start of the problems though. The drummer never practices between jams or rehearsals (and in fact NEVER has). He's only played for a few years, and wants to be self-taught, so won't learn exercises or take any advice from anywhere. As a result, his tempo control is terrible, the couple of rolls he uses again and again do my head in, and he plays his kit so hard that it is falling to pieces. This is bearing in mind that he never has money to fix it, or pay for rehearsals for that matter. He hasn't put his hand in his pocket once (in fact I invested the money to buy his current kit in the first place).