So, im no expert on guitars and i need some advice and information:

Ive just put a deposit down on a Gibson LP Studio (2014) and ive been considering having EMG 81/85 fitted in it. At the guitar centre they told me i could have a 9v to 18v mod on the pickups. Would this make a big difference to sound and are there any drawbacks?

Also the guitar comes with coil taps, would they be useless with EMGs?

Thankyou for your help
Harley
I believe you will have to install entirely new electronics to convert the guitar from passive to active, which includes new pots, special input-jack and wiring as well as the pickups themselves.

So to answer your question, no, I don't think you can keep the coil taps if you do not specifically choose an EMG set that has that feature.
"Your signature can not be longer than 250 characters."

How you know you have too many guitars...

Apparently once also known as PonyFan #834553.
If you're going to buy a new guitar and if you MUST have EMGs in it, it's probably a better idea to buy the new guitar that already has them.

You'll essentially be tossing away any electronics in the guitar, so existing coil taps will go as well.
If you add actives to a Studio, have them do the routing to put battery boxes in the back of the guitar that do NOT require you to pull a gizmo with tiny little wires from the top of the battery. And do NOT have them toss the batteries into the control cavity just so that you can avoid having to put the battery boxes on the guitar. About the second time you have to change the batteries (particularly if you ever use the guitar on stage and have them poop out on you), you'll say, "Okay, I get it now."