Hello. I'm totally new with 7 string guitars, so i have a question. I want to tune my future 7 string guitar (25,5" scale) with A Standard tuning (A-D-G-C-F-A-D), and i don't know which string gauge should i choose. I'm using EB Not Even Slinky 12-56 on my 24,75" scale guitar with D Standard tuning, so will 11-54 + 70 do work for 7 string? Best regards.
It should.

Make sure you set it up correctly, though. That much tension will warp your neck, if you don't make sure to adjust the truss rod, as needed.
12-56 for D standard? Maaan, that's heavy. I mean, I used 11-54 on my old LP
I suppose a .65 would do, but if you're used to heavy strings, give it a go. The nut can be a pain though.
Gear pics

Quote by Cathbard
Bugera cloning Blackstar is a scandal cloaked in a tragedy making love to a nightmare.

Using 12 - 52 + 66 on my Loomis (26.5) for A Standard. A 70 is a bit much. Work your way up before putting ultra thick strings on.

I say this because you may not like the tone of super thick strings on a standard scale instrument. Having to have a new nut cut would suck.
Ibanez Prestige RG852MPB
Ibanez Prestige RG652KFX
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
Schecter Loomis NT
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
Line 6 POD HD500X
Deadhorse OD/Boss HM-2
Last edited by lemurflames at Sep 21, 2014,
I had no trouble fitting a .70 in the nut of my AW-7. I didn't have to drill out the tuning peg either. The issue is that you may not like the tone of a string that large (ESPECIALLY if you aren't using an OD, it can be a muddy mess) and it's kind of difficult to undo once the string has worked its way in and widened the nut.
Ibanez Prestige RG852MPB
Ibanez Prestige RG652KFX
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
Schecter Loomis NT
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
Line 6 POD HD500X
Deadhorse OD/Boss HM-2