Hi all, newbie here. I need some help. I have a basement studio put together for my project and I'm trying to develop my rhythm tone. (Sample Below) How can I give the tone more edge and presence without it getting fizzy and crackly? I have no outboard gear, just an 003 rack and pro tools 10. Is there some plugs in there that would help me make this tone more mean or edgy without the hiss. Thanks in advance.

https://soundcloud.com/user230661498/tone-test-9-21-14
Possibly more gain, definitely more highs, possibly more presence.
If it gets fizzy use a second or third order HCF and remove the fizzy high frequency part.

Also did you double track the thing or you only applied a spreader or sample delay to the guitar track?

'cause real double tracking makes wonders.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
Quote by Spambot_2
Possibly more gain, definitely more highs, possibly more presence.
If it gets fizzy use a second or third order HCF and remove the fizzy high frequency part.

Also did you double track the thing or you only applied a spreader or sample delay to the guitar track?

'cause real double tracking makes wonders.

Double tracked. When i bring the low pass up it gets noisy fairly quickly. Sorry, but what is a third order High Cut? Just the same filter multiple times?
Quote by 1GoVols1
Double tracked. When i bring the low pass up it gets noisy fairly quickly.
Then don't bring it that high, or use a different cab simulation.
Quote by 1GoVols1
Sorry, but what is a third order High Cut? Just the same filter multiple times?
You also can make a third order one with three first order ones, yeah, but with digital EQ's it's easier.