So I've been in this punk/post-grunge band now for 2 months. I play guitar and sing and I am the only guitarist (I've been looking for someone else who can play lead, no luck yet though).We played our first two shows last week and in both shows I made some pretty dumb mistakes. I practice religiously every day and 8/10 times never make a mistake when I am practicing by myself or at band practice. Our stuff is not complicated at all...it's as easy as Nirvana's stuff. My major issue is I just got a pedal board with 5 pedals on, and it's difficult in some songs to hit the right pedal without looking (and I cannot look because I am singing). Anyway, I feel really down and can't understand why I making so many basic mistakes in my playing and stomping. Any advice other than to practice, practice, practice?
Question: Were these mistakes that you recovered from? Or were they mistakes that you freaked out about (and therefore stopped the momentum of the song or whatever)?
Playing live poses a certain level of stress for everyone. I can relate, when I first played live I kept doing small mistakes in my playing despite getting the songs down perfectly. And I didn't have the added problem of the pedals . Sure, practice helps, but it's important to get through the first few shows and "toughen up". So if you can play then flawlessly in your room, some shows later you'll do that at the show too.
You might try setting your microphone about an inch lower from where you have it now. I get the impression that you have it set now so that your head is tilted slightly upward. Set it up so that when you face directly forward, your mouth is lined up with the diaphragm of the mic (center).