I'm not a gigging musician. I play by myself at home, at night, and at low volumes to keep the wife happy since I'm a fairly novice-intermediate player.

Currently I have a Focusrite 18i20 for I/O and I'm feeding a Onkyo with some nice speakers and I have another output feeding a VOX guitar amp. But in actuality I use headphones a lot to keep the wife off my a$$. I have several regular guitars but my favorite is my Variax JTV-69. I currently have the Pod HD500X. I find it, while not too difficult, it's just way overkill. I'd like something simpler. I'd like a lot of sounds (functionality), but I don't want to spend half the night looking for a tone in 1000 different settings. Foot control is really a non-issue to me.

I like the Line 6 Amplifi idea of getting the sounds from the song database and it looks easy to operate. That seems more appealing than searching through a million presets to find the one you're looking for. But it does store a couple hundred in case the internet blows up.

The Boss GT-001 looks a little harder to operate but does look like a much better unit since it's USB works and could jack right into Logic Studio without the need for the 18i20. I also like the idea of being able to control it on the Mac without the need of an IOS device. I also feel there's more support for patches. But I guess once again, you would be wading though patches to find the one you want.

I must be getting old! It used to be all about the number of knobs and features. Now it's about ease of use. Please help me make some kind of decision. I would love to hear your ideas on my delima.

Mike
Learn how to drive your HD500X
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
Quote by Cathbard
Learn how to drive your HD500X