I think its about time i got a distortion pedal. I dont like the distortion sound on my amp (Fender Champion 20) and I was wondering if buying a pedal with a better distortion sound would fix that issue. I dont know how these things work im a newb . Can anyone recommend a cheap but good pedal? Thank You.

p.s. guitar is Epiphone Les Paul Special II if that changes anything
Time for a new rig! Not worth putting any money into anything besides a new amp, then a better axe. Whats your location and budget?

If a new amp isn't an option, you can get BOSS OD/Distortion pedals for $40 or less all day long.
It really depends on what kind of distortion you want and how picky you are. List some bands and we'll be of better assistance.
Atmospheric dark metal w/ black and death metal influences:
(My Soundcloud page):

Pestilential Flood
Quote by KailM
It really depends on what kind of distortion you want and how picky you are. List some bands and we'll be of better assistance.

+1
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Quote by JGM258
Time for a new rig! Not worth putting any money into anything besides a new amp, then a better axe. Whats your location and budget?

Agreed.

A distortion pedal through the Fender Champion won't be much of an improvement, and that Epiphone LP Special II isn't helping you either.

But I'd replace the guitar first. The distortion you can get from the Champion will probably sound better if you use a nice guitar, with good pickups.
Squier "VMC" Stratocaster
PRS SE Singlecut
tc electronic polytune
CMAT MODS Signa Drive
Blakemore Effects Deus Ex Machina
DIY gaussmarkov Dr. Boogey
EHX Small Clone
Mooer ShimVerb
DIY Beavis Devolt
T-REX Fuel Tank Chameleon
Ampeg GVT52-112