Ok....First, thousands of people, myself included, have taught themselves to play. And when I started playing, back in '75, there was not a fraction of the resources available for self teaching that are available now.

The song you illustrate is pretty simple. Not "as simple as it gets"... That would be various one-chord numbers.
But pretty simple. And he's doing nothing but downstrokes with the right hand.

So.... You need a guitar. Don't get the cheapest thing you can find. Buy a decent entry-level instrument. Yamaha makes some very nice ones, often considered the standard for beginner's guitars.
Consider spending the extra money to have the guitar set up properly....By a technician. It will make your initial experience easier.
Prepare for some finger pain. Even with a good setup. Your left-hand fingers will hurt. Practice a little, till you start to get some pain, then put it down.
Keep doing this..... your fingertips will callous and you'll be OK.

Go to JustinGuitar:
http://www.justinguitar.com
Generally acknowledged as the single best beginner's resource on the web. There are lots more.
How hard is it? The age old question. Well I started 10 months ago and to be completely honest with you, I think it's very hard - much harder than I anticipated. You don't just pick one up and start playing. It takes tons of practice and it will be hard on your fingers at first. The tips of your fretting hand will get calloused and numb. Mine still get sore after a long playing/practice session but you get used it. I think the level of difficulty also depends on the individual and their God given talent, coordination and dexterity. Some people can play pretty well after a few months.