Hello, I'm currently new at guitars, I've been using my FX370C Yamaha for about 4 days now. I've been looking tutorials using it allday for chords and such. Though I have 1 question that I'm not sure if it's serious problem that I should stop.

One of the chords that I use to practice is D major. Looking at the tab, swap the 1 and the 2 finger positions, I pretty much do that instead, being used to it.

Is this a bad habit I should stop now? Or just stay with it, not a big deal do whatever is comfortable for me?

-Jon
I think it's probably better to switch it how it is in the tab. But, I find there's an even better way. Barre the one and 2 positions with index, and then play other with second finger. You can even add one more note, like the whole top part of Bm7, and you could add on that D root on A string as well.

I find all of those options are good at different times.
Start by doing the chord the traditional "right way"( open D, index(A note),ring finger (D note) and middle finger (F#note) in that order) . The reason you want to do it like that is that it leaves your pinky and index fingers some freedom to catch other notes ( this becomes useful with fills etc.). It also makes pulling of to the open high E string easier. It's also an easy voicing to move around, which you'll find happens in some tunes. It's the default voicing for a reason - it's efficient and lends itself well to chord changes.

Then practice the partial bar method as mentioned above, which is useful for adding other notes, but is really a more advanced voicing that should be focused on later. You don't want your default D voicing to be a partial bar - it'll slow you down for tunes that jump from chord to chord quickly and it's rare that people would use that for a D chord, unless there is some specific reason to do so ( like certain fills or bass lines).
Last edited by reverb66 at Oct 7, 2014,
Quote by reverb66