Hi there,

I'm fairly new to playing guitar and had a couple of questions about playing the blues.

1. In many turn around licks, notes are played that are not part of the minor scale or blues scale... Is there a reason why this works in blues? Do all notes generally work with the I-IV-V progression? For example the G and high E strings are played in succession from fret 4 and all the way down...

2. During a typical I-IV-V progression, does the scale you play change depending on whether you are on the E, A, or B? Or do you normally stay within the E throughout all 12 bars?

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is confusing.. Like I said I am a beginner so I may have some terms mixed up!
1. Scales do not define what you can play over a progression. Hell, what you play doesn't even have to really work with the key. Not all notes work, and it's difficult to explain how some notes that are outside the key work, but just use your ears at this point.
2. Some scales work, some scales don't, it's really up to you to learn them and apply them as you hear fit. You can certainly change scales in the progression.
Quote by skimmilk84
Hi there,

I'm fairly new to playing guitar and had a couple of questions about playing the blues.

1. In many turn around licks, notes are played that are not part of the minor scale or blues scale... Is there a reason why this works in blues? Do all notes generally work with the I-IV-V progression? For example the G and high E strings are played in succession from fret 4 and all the way down...

2. During a typical I-IV-V progression, does the scale you play change depending on whether you are on the E, A, or B? Or do you normally stay within the E throughout all 12 bars?

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is confusing.. Like I said I am a beginner so I may have some terms mixed up!