I am a self-taught beginner and I am trying to learn the Fade To Black solo intro by Metallica. I am having problems with that faster fancy part of the solo and I am getting really frustrated now. It feels like I am never going to learn how to play that fast part. I feel like this because I have played that part a lot today but it seems like I can't play it better now than what I could when I started practicing it earlier today when I picked up the guitar.

I can almost play it as fast as it is supposed to be played. But when I play it faster it feels like my picking hand starts panicking and goes all over the place and I can't play fast and accurately enough on the right string. It's like I don't have enough control over my picking hand when playing fast and it feels uncomfortable as if it has a mind of it's own.

Why is this? How can i solve this problem? How should I practice? Is it because I haven't used the metronome when practicing? Is it normal as a beginner to spend hours upon hours for days to just get one part of a solo down?
Slow it down, get it right at a lower tempo to get it ingrained in muscle memory correctly. Give it time and you'll get it eventually
Bands:
Native State
A Titan, A Deity
Rash L.A

Gear:
PRS P245 Semi Hollow
Suhr Modern Guthrie Spec
Mayones Regius 7 Buckeye Burl
LSL CVS Studio Strat
Fender American Standard Tele
Faith Hi Gloss Venus

Mesa Lonestar Special
Bugera 333
Zilla 2x12 Fatboy
Line 6 PodHD500
all of this is easier said than done (and i certainly felt like you when i was just starting, and even for some time after that)

- try to relax. it's counterintuitive, but the harder you try the more you tense up which makes it even worse

- don't worry too much. you're only a beginner. you'll get there eventually.