I've had a discussion with someone recently and he told me that he would only buy an acoustic when it comes to Epiphone. So from what he said I assumed that just like the squier strat, the epiphone lp is a beginner instrument. Or is it not? Then again I think that the best way to find out is to actually own one, but the price for the one I'm looking for is kinda high (at least for me).

I've had this for a while in my bookmarks and I'm wondering if it's worth the money. Can you play anything else than metal with this guitar? Is it a good instrument in general or should I get something more expensive? I currently have a guitar with a shitty tremolo system and it gets out of tune pretty easily (Cort VX-V2 or something like that). I mostly looked at this guitar because it's a single cut model and never had an instrument with EMG 81/85/89 etc.

I know it depends on what I wanna play but I don't only play one thing all the time. I started playing guitar mostly because of hard-rock and metal, but as I was discovering more I kinda grew bored of playing metal. This is also the reason I'm thinking of just getting a strat and forget about the EMGs (or seymour duncan blackouts).
Last edited by Χάρης at Oct 10, 2014,
Something like an Epiphone LP Special is a beginner guitar. Once you start looking at the Standard and above(subject to individual quality), they can be very good instruments.

As with most makes and models, some proper shitters makes it past QC, and if you buy online, you're a bit more likely to get stuck with one(or at least to have to do some remedial setup work, or return it, which can be a pain in the tits). If possibly, try before you buy, and even if it costs a little more to buy the one you played in store, rather than going home and ordering the same model for a few $ less, it'll be worth it in the long run.
I own four Epiphone Les Paul guitars.
Les Paul 1960 Tribute Plus
Les Paul Custom (Korean)
Les Paul 2006 Standard
Les Paul Ultra II