Hello My name is Parker Coleman and I am a high school student taking my senior year capstone course in Engineering, I have been a guitarist since I was 8 and while I love the whammy bar I feel like it causes problems with tuning and believe there are other ways it can be innovated. So for my senior year project I am designing an electric whammy bar that can be attached and removed from any guitar very easily, it will be transportable from guitar to guitar and should be relatively small. But in order to go forward with this project I need survey results that prove there is a problem in need of solving. So if you want to help me out and possibly help in the innovation of a new take on the whammy bar please fill out this survey! I swear it's not spam! https://www.esurveycreator.com/s/56fd1ef
Last edited by Parker Coleman at Oct 10, 2014,
I'm unconvinced you'll reinvent the wheel here, but I took your survey anyway...
“Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge.”
Charles Darwin
I've actually thought about something like this a few times, and I'm totally for it. Like, a whammy pedal as an actual whammy bar on your guitar. I'm much better at doing whammy stuff with a bar than a pedal. It's just so much nicer.

As for tuning problems, my current guitar has a whammy bar that I ache to use but never do because I need to replace the nut otherwise it'll go out of tune. I haven't gotten around to that yet, but it's annoying. If a guitar is going to come with a whammy bar it should be usable in the first place without needing to replace stuff to keep it in tune.

Totally for this idea.

Also if I could suggest something, you should totally make this MIDI compatible too.
Guitars:
Davison SG
Line 6 Variax 600
Line 6 JTV 69s
Squier Classic Bibe Telecaster Thinline
Last edited by Clay-man at Oct 10, 2014,