I am relatively new to owning an electric guitar. I have dabbled in music for 20 years (played some bass in college, played nothing for 10 years, bought an acoustic guitar a couple years back) and I am familiar with the hardware, but I am not very good at playing anything! Regardless, I enjoy messing with it. I recently picked up an amp and a LP 100 for a song. Both needed a little work to be "right" but that was fairly easy. I have noticed that the guitar would benefit from a few more tweaks. I would consider new tuning machines, rewiring it, and maybe even upgrading the pick-ups.

The question that I am trying to wrap my mind around, is it worth it? This is a thin body, bolt on neck, budget guitar. But to me it feels good. I don't have a lot of experience with other guitars and I haven't developed a taste beyond the basic aesthetics of the Les Paul profile.

I could put a little money here and a little bit there to get this thing more dialed in. I recognize that I would never get that money back out of it.

Would this be silly? Should I just spend a little more to pick up a more refined Epiphone Les Paul before considering doing any modifications or upgrades?

I don't have a few hundred bucks laying around to drop on a new guitar (or even a used upgrade), but I have hard time throwing good money at a guitar that some might say is not worth much to begin with.

Advice appreciated!
it's really up to you. i wouldn't want to put too much into it, but there are (supposedly... i haven't got round to trying them) some decent pickups around these days for fairly cheap from the likes of entwistle, tonerider, etc., which would likely be an upgrade from what you already have in there, and which wouldn't cost anywhere near as much as a new (or even used) guitar.

problem is if anything else needs to be swapped (i haven't tried the LP100). Swapping the pickups is one thing, if you have to swap the pickups, the nut, the bridge, etc. etc. it soon starts to add up.