Hello,
I've been playing the guitar for approximately 5 years. I never took personal lessons but just used the web.
I never really tried to be good, I stopped playing after I ran out of intermediate-level songs that I enjoyed. The length of the bunch of breaks, in total were, around 2 years (so technically I've been playing for only 3 years).
All I can do is play a quite a bit of songs on the ultimate-guitar top 100 tabs section.
I know sight-reading from my lessons in piano in elementary school. BUT I never used music sheet on guitar, just tabs. ONLY TABS ;(
I know chords, but I have no knowledge on scales.
I searched around the web and downloaded two books: the advancing guitarist and the modern method to guitar berklee edition.
I'm currently trying to read them (but they're boring as hell).
TLDR: Basically, I can play songs other people made, but I don't know anything about guitars for shit and can't improvise for shit nor have legitimate knowledge on scales, chords and music theory in general.
I honestly don't know how to move on. Your tips and advice would be greatly appreciated!
A new amp would certainly improve your playing
Quote by lambofgod127
btw im in hs and im almost 18 so if u do think she was flirting with me dont say that its wrong im almost a grown man.

༼ ▀̿Ĺ̯▀̿ ̿ ༽ WE ARE ROB ༼ ▀̿Ĺ̯▀̿ ̿ ༽
Honestly all I ever did with guitar was learn to play other people's music and take the bits and pieces I liked to influence writing my own songs.

I didn't get much better at writing music until I started tabbing out songs on my own and learning how to use my ears.

That's how I really learned my way around the fretboard.
Quote by Amuro Jay
Honestly all I ever did with guitar was learn to play other people's music and take the bits and pieces I liked to influence writing my own songs.

I didn't get much better at writing music until I started tabbing out songs on my own and learning how to use my ears.

That's how I really learned my way around the fretboard.