Hi All

So I'm a newbie, playing on my acoustic for the last month and thinking of buying an electric. I want to play the newest r&b/hip hop songs ( not really interested in rock or metal at all).

Should I get a single coil or a humbucker style electric?

Can you recommend a guitar that is easy to play for a beginner?

These are the types of songs I want to play :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vteosQroTNQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BPsLOQKhK4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ORVz_qeKgvg
R&B, hip hop, funk, and other similar forms have been played on all kinds of guitars with all kinds of pickups, but Strats & others guitars with singlecoils predominate.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by dannyalcatraz
R&B, hip hop, funk, and other similar forms have been played on all kinds of guitars with all kinds of pickups, but Strats & others guitars with singlecoils predominate.

Thought so. As I'm a beginner and dont want to spend $700- $1000 on a strat can you offer some advice on what other cheaper guitars from Schecter, Ibanez, Fender etc I could buy? ( they all seem to use humbuckers)
A MiM* Fender Strat would be the safe option, should be easy to find, and they start around $400. In the same price range, other good options include the G&L Tribute guitars, Godin's Progression or Session guitars, and the surprisingly good Yamaha Pacificas.

Used, you'll have even more options.

Actually, if you look online at eBay, Guitar Center, Reverb.com and other sites, you can find all kinds of deals, se new, some used. And many sites let you use price range as a search criterion.