Just looking for some input on this beat I made the other day. How's the mix and how well does it flow? Not enough variance in anything? Y'know, the normal stuff.

Thanks again, guys!

The War Within
Quote by mangablade
If star wars had a Heavy Metal band (no not "Vader" lol), then you would be it. You sound like a anrgy mother****ing Yoda.

I sound like an angry Yoda...is that a good thing...or a bad thing? lol
Hi mate. Thanks for the crit and advice. Much appreciated.

This is great! Enough variation to keep it interesting throughout. I thought the scratching was a little off putting but can see the sense in having it there to break the track up a little. I am very new to producing so probably not much of value I can add on that front but sounded good to me. Honestly not much constructive criticism I can give and nice to hear something different on UG- keep up the good work!
I'm very into hip-hop, and was surprised to see this on UG! However, I am more inclined towards alternative hip-hop, generally lo-fi stuff with organic sounding or sampled beats. This to me it has a very hi-fi, synthetic, but epic kind of sound, the sort of beat I could see a lot of more mainstream/commerical rappers using.

On my first listen I found it a little underwhelming - the mix is very nicely balanced, the synth sounds (especially the pizz strings) and choice of drum samples are great - but I think it's all a little too soft, lacking some punchiness and low end. However, the last section (that you drop into very nicely with the record scratches) picked up the whole arrangement for me. And also upon listening through the track again I genuinely enjoyed it much more knowing that was coming, and noticed a lot more depth to the arrangement in general.

Hope some of my thoughts are helpful, thanks for the crit on my bands track