Hope this is the right place to post this.

So I have a Fender MiM. I use these strap locks.

I was practicing today standing up and, well, the actual screw holding the strap button in snapped in half. Part of it's still in the guitar. Here's a pic.

Has this happened to anyone else?

Any advice on how to fix this at home? I'm a broke musician and I have a gig on Saturday, so taking in to have it worked on seems like a no-go.

I guess step one is getting the screw out but I have no idea how I would even go about doing that.
the screw heads on those are a bit smaller than any standard screw. But you can drill a hole next to the broken screw and put the strap-lock there. You will have to grind a little of the head down to make it fit. But it is 100% doable because I have done it on more than 1 occasion.

I used Stainless steel #6x1" pan head screws and lightly grind the head down until it fits .
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by Robbgnarly
the screw heads on those are a bit smaller than any standard screw. But you can drill a hole next to the broken screw and put the strap-lock there. You will have to grind a little of the head down to make it fit. But it is 100% doable because I have done it on more than 1 occasion.

I used Stainless steel #6x1" pan head screws and lightly grind the head down until it fits .

Hmmm. I think I have a screw that might actually fit without sanding. Thanks for the advice Time to bust out the cordless.

I guess I'll just have to deal with the cosmetic issue of having a hole in the guitar lol.
If you drill the hole right next to the broken screw, it is likely you will never see it. I would go just above the broken screw
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by Robbgnarly