I'm a beginner and I like playing/trying to learn lead metal guitar. So I have to do lots of picking and muting and so on. When I play a solo I rest my picking hand on the strings above the string that I am playing to mute them. But what happens when I want to play the lower/thicker E string and I want to rest my picking hand to get better accuracy but not palm mute/mute it at the same time? I mean above the lower/thicker E string there are no strings left to rest my hand on! So where do I rest the picking hand when I play that string or the other thicker strings without palm muting them or muting them by mistake? Do I rest my hand on the bridge only?
Last edited by Zerpent93 at Oct 16, 2014,
^ Don't do that, anchoring your pinky on the higher strings/below the strings is a bad idea and will usually cause excess tension in your picking hand. Before someone posts about the minority of professional guitarists who do this, you can make it work but it is much less work to not anchor and learn how to pick properly. That is definitely a bad habit.

Depending on how you hold the pick you could possibly touch the bridge lightly with the rest of your hand on the strings just below the low E, but honestly it'll probably be a lot better for you in the long run to just get used to floating your hand. At some point your picking arm will be resting somewhere on the body of the guitar, so you will have some stability from that.

Make sure you are only lightly touching the strings with your picking hand when picking the other strings by the way; you don't want to be pressing into the strings or guitar with your hand since this causes excess tension.
Quote by Anon17