I am looking to get my first electric guitar.

Budget: $300

Condition: used

Artists: I want to play a little bit of everything (eventually): metallica, chili peppers, foo fighters, general rock (50s-90s). Not too much into metal, but I would like the option if possible

Preference: Don't really care about the shape, I like whatever will sound best for my style of music.

Configuration: I'm a noob so I don't know (coils, etc)

Current Gear: None

So I guess I'm looking for the widest range possible. I was thinking of one of the following: Yamaha 112v, Epiphone Les Paul Standard, Epiphone Es-335 Dot. I'm sure there are other that people will recommend and I appreciate it.

For an AMP, I'm also new, but I think the Fender Mustang I 20W seems like a decent option. Other AMP recommendations around $100-150?

I appreciate it. I've been on eBay and Craigslist for a few days and lurking on these forums, but there seems to be so many opinions.

EDIT: I found a yamaha on craigslist near me for $100, is this a good deal? He can't tell me if its 112J or 112V. (description below)

"Gloss black Yamaha Pacifica electric guitar. Great playing guitar with upgrades. This is Yamaha's version of a Strat style guitar. Strat style tremolo bridge. It has three pickups...two single-coil Fender Strat pickups and one humbucker. New Ernie Ball .010 Super Slinky strings. Rosewood fretboard. Maple neck. Great overall condition. Just needs a player!

Here's a list of upgrades....

1) All six tuners are brand new...one of the original ones was bad, so I changed them all, same type as original.

2) GFS (Guitar Fetish online) solid brass tremolo block for better tone and sustain.