Hi,
I'm new to this effects loop as my old amp didn't have one. So my gear is

guitar-cry baby-line fm4-whammy-bad monkey-throttle box-phaser-reverb-delay-amp.

So would the FM4(sythn effects) and phaser go in the fx loop? I know the reverb and delay does. Also il manly be using distortion from the amp but use the overdrive pedals as boost so where do they go
Thanks

Note. My pedalboard didn't suck the tone out of my old amp, but I was using peals for distortion then.
Last edited by Guitar137335 at Oct 18, 2014,
Well, it all depends on what you want. Phaser, reverb and delay are usually in the FX loop, while all kinds of boosters and dirt pedals are in the front of the amp. I don't really know about the synth fx, I've never used one. There are a lot of opinions about the placement of the wah pedal, but I think that it's pretty good at where you have it now.
I'd probably put in either last before the amp, or first in the effects loop. This way, it should work well with your drive pedals, but still not bend your reverb or anything. If I got this wrong, someone correct me :P
phaser can go either in front or in the loop. it'll sound more subtle in front, more exaggerated in the loop (assuming you're using amp distortion). if you're using distortion pedals, same thing- phaser in front sounds more subtle whereas after the dirt pedals sounds more exaggerated.

with the boost again it depends on what you want. if you want more of a level boost, put it in the loop. depending on how the amp's set, you might get enough of a level boost in front of the amp (and it'll also improve saturation etc.).
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3