Hi, I was given some advice on here about purchasing a new amp, and for my price range was advised on the jet city 22 watt amp head, and a Harley benton cab.

The only thing worrying me is the volume. I live with my Mum and Grandfather( I know, bit sad i'm 24 and still at home), and can have it at a reasonably loud volume, but not stupidly loud. Would buying an attenuator be a good option? Jet city make their own for around £100.

I have no experience with valve amplifiers, currently own a spider IV 75 which I now realise was a mistake. I will keep the spider for some of the fun sounds though.

Also, I enjoy many genres of music, mainly metal (think stuff like Slayer, in flames whoracle album, metallica) but I wish to also dabble in other genres, what pedals, if any, would I need to add to my budget? Remember I have never used pedals, am used to the effect built in to my Spider.

I hope this is enough information, as the only thing holding me back buying the amp is the volume worry.
I have the 22 head & don't have any problems with using it for home practice - that's what the master volume controls are for

If you want to consider pedals to use with it, a tubescreamer would be your best first purchase.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
EVH 5150 III LBXII
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Last edited by GaryBillington at Oct 19, 2014,
Do the tubes still get hot and create a nice distortion even with a master volume though? I wan't too sure. If so, would it make more sense to get the 50 watt, or will the 22 suffice?

Also, it is quite a cheap amp in relative terms, would it be as good as for example a dark terror? It will be a definite upgrade from the spider yes?
Last edited by conanwarrior at Oct 19, 2014,
Quote by conanwarrior