I went to the store a few days ago to buy some general supplies, and I played a few guitars for fun while I was at it. One guitar I tried was this:

http://www.thomann.de/gb/gretsch_g5435t_pro_jet_black.htm

It left a great impression on me. It has nice specs and it's beautiful as hell. But I'm wondering what's the quality of these ~500e Gretsch guitars? Is it built well with nice electronics? I know that it's probably not suited for metal, but prog like Steven Wilsons stuff and newer Opeth would probably sound pretty good. But if these are known for having huge quality issues, I probably wont consider it. I have zero experience with Gretsch guitars, that's why I'm asking you.
I've had 3 of those Projets over the years, they all played well, sounded good, and I never had any issues with them. Those are the facts.

For the subjective opinion, I believe they're worthy of mention when discussing best value guitars in that price range.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
EVH 5150 III LBXII
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
They're good! Gretsch has been doing solid work across the board since they were bought out by Fender a few years ago.

The pickups are nice, there's always room for improvement with electronics at this price level but the stock ones are perfectly good. Be aware that you can't just drop humbuckers in so your pickup options are fairly limited if you choose to upgrade.
I know, but there are plenty of options in 'trons too. But that's great to hear Maybe I'll find an excuse to go and try it out again. It probably wouldn't be my main guitar, but for prog and maybe some chicken-picking-country-billy stuff it would seemingly be great. Thanks for the input