I am a drummer *cue abuse* and i want to start learning guitar, just as an extra instrument to have.

What is a decent beginner guitar? i will be getting it from PMT (UK) most likely or some other UK store so no fancy brands that aren't typically available in them stores.

budget is about £200 for the guitar and ill be needing an amp and my budget is about £60 for that, what would you recommend? i play mainly alternative rock, indie and admittedly, quite a lot of pop punk *cue more abuse*

I know its not the right place for it but could anyone recommend me an amp too? would only be for practise so probably about 30 watts, maybe less.

thanks
Could you find a Yamaha Pacifica 112 and a Roland Micro Cube for that price? By the way, 30 watts is way enough for a gigging amp, for practice you'd be fine with a 1 watt amp.

If that is out of your budget, a Squier Affinity would also be a good instrument for the price.
Last edited by guitar/bass95 at Oct 19, 2014,
Quote by guitar/bass95
Could you find a Yamaha Pacifica 112 and a Roland Micro Cube for that price? By the way, 30 watts is way enough for a gigging amp, for practice you'd be fine with a 1 watt amp.

If that is out of your budget, a Squier Affinity would also be a good instrument for the price.

Agreed.

For the amp you could also try to find an used Vox Valvetronix or Peavey Vypyr that fits you budget. They're very nice amps, usually inexpensive in the used market.
Squier "VMC" Stratocaster
PRS SE Singlecut
tc electronic polytune
CMAT MODS Signa Drive
Blakemore Effects Deus Ex Machina
DIY gaussmarkov Dr. Boogey
EHX Small Clone
Mooer ShimVerb
DIY Beavis Devolt
T-REX Fuel Tank Chameleon
Ampeg GVT52-112
yeah a pacifica 112j or 112v are hard to go wrong with- that's not to say you maybe can't do slightly better if you get lucky, but as a readily-available guitar which is at worst pretty decent and worthy of upgrades later, the 112 is hard to beat.