I've been playing for over 10 years and have finally decided to upgrade from my locally made knockoff tube stack. I play a lot of different styles but I need something with good rock and metal tones as I'll be using it for practice and gigs with both my progressive rock and death metal bands. I've checked out the obvious Mesas, Marshalls and the like but I really don't want to pay for the brand, if I can save a few hundred bucks and still get the tone I'm looking for I don't care whose name's on it.

Ideally I want it to sound as close to the classic, grunty British sound whilst having just enough gain and sizzle to pull all the 'metal tricks' (Low end pinch harmonics, satch/dime squeals, weird scrapey noises.) Scooped tones are for bedroom guitarists, i need something i can actually hear over drums without the volume at 10.

Requirements:
  • At least 2 channels, preferably 3 (clean/crunch/lead)
  • Series effects loop (or parallel that can be set to 100% wet)
  • 100 watts (or whatever's loud enough, my current amp's on the 60 watt setting)
  • As flexible eq setting as possible (individual channel eq would be the best.)
  • MIDS!!

Also, MIDI switching would be nice so I can get crazy with effects in the prog band.
Cheers guys, hope you can help me out.
Last edited by Radzilla7 at Oct 21, 2014,
Randall RM100.

To give you an idea of what preamp modules you can buy to go in one:

http://salvationmods.com/index.php?page=modifications
http://www.jadedfaithmods.com/mts-mods.html

It checks all the boxes.
Three channels. ie three modules.
It has both parallel and series loops. They're line level loops though if that is a problem. There are ways around it if it is.
100W normally (they came stock with four E34L's) but it can run just about any octal power tube you want to. Individual biasing on every power tube so you don't need matched sets - and extremely easy to bias yourself. All done from the back panel.
Each module has its own EQ controls
MIDI switchable channels.