I am just a beginner. However, I really like melodic death metal and wonder if there are any scales for improvising or making melodic death metal riffs. Are there any? If not, then what scales are good to learn if you want to improvise metal riffs/solos? Maybe this is too far ahead for me to learn yet but I still wonder.
Last edited by Zerpent93 at Oct 22, 2014,
The standard scales: minor, harmonic minor. It's all about the way you play them and the other instrumentation going on around the riff.

The best idea is to look at a bunch of songs that sound the way you like and examine what about them that gives them that sound. That's everything from note choice and rhythm in the guitar work to the other guitar parts, bass, drums, vocals; there are so many elements that go in to that sound it's definitely not just about what notes you choose.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Scales will not be the solution to your problem, studying actual melodic death metal songs will.

To put it into an analogy, if you are learning scales you are learning the alphabet of the musical world. Which is great, it is always great to know which letters (notes) makes up a word (phrase/riff). But if you don't learn any words (riffs/phrases) or sentences (songs), your vocabulary will only consist of knowing the alphabet and trying to string together letters (notes) into something that might sound like a word (phrase/riff). In order to get good you have to have a extensive vocabulary of words and sentences you like and know how to use, and each vocabulary is different, just like a mechanic and a doctor have specific words in their vocabulary for their profession, musicians of different styles use different vocabularies. Same language, but different vocabulary.