So right now im studying how to build basic traids and chords and I understand how to turn the triad into minors, diminished, and augmentd. My problem I find is that on the sheet music im using to study has several of the minor triads without ant flats. For example, the aminor and dminor triads do not have a flatted 3rd. So am I missing something or are these the correct way to make these traids. If it is the correct way, how would you make a regular a and d triad then? Thanks!
nah, a minor triad always has a flattened third. Is there any key signature that gives the flattened third that your missing?

edit: that probably wouldn't be the case, cause that would really only make sense for key signatures like C# and such. Can't think of what else on the sheet music you'd be missing though.
it's all just coming back
it's all coming back

it's all coming back to me
Last edited by Baby Joel at Oct 24, 2014,
Not from what I see. Like the amin just has the regular notes without and flats in it, thats not right im guessing. So its probably a typo. If you wanted to know im using the book Begginer Jazz guitar by Jody Fisher
wait, the a-minor is shown as not having flats in it?

so...the c is shown as natural? Cause the A Major has a c# in it. So if it's shown as c-natural, that'd be the flattened third. Same with d-minor, with the f-natural being the flattened third
it's all coming back

I might be jumping to conclusions here, so sorry if I am, but it sounds like you need to reinforce your knowledge on the major and minor scale patterns.

The major scale pattern is: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half (whole is a whole note/tone, half is a half note (or semitone))
for the A Major, as an example, that gives you with A-B-C#-D-E-F#-G#-A

so take the flattened third of that, and c# becomes c natural
it's all coming back

ok, so youre saying that the chords are build off of the degrees of the major scale right?