I am currently learning a solo from Come Clarity (from 2:21) by In Flames. I am a beginner so my vibrato sucks. I wonder how to you make short vibratos that sound good? When I play it and try to make vibratos at those quick short notes, I don't feel like I have enough time to do it. It either feels like my finger is too weak and does not make the string move or it is too strong at other times and makes the vibrato too wide/fast and just sounds annoying. How do you do those quick short vibratos with good control? Do you make the vibrato from your wrist or your fingers? How many fingers do you use on the string?
From the wrist and the amount of fingers depends on if you are using your first or third finger.
yeah wrist generally

the other thing is, in short vibratos like that you can normally hear exactly the number of discrete bends which are being done. at that one at 2:21-2:22, it sounds like he does it 3 times (or 4 if you count the original note), possibly in a triplet timing (?- don't quote me on that, it may well just be basic quaver timing once you factor in the first note).

it's a bit like fast playing- it's often not as fast as you think, just the accuracy makes it sound faster. same thing here- they're not superhuman, they only have time to do 3 vibratos there, just they have really good control and technique so it still sounds really, really good.

other than that it's just practise. however, you need to check that you're practising it correctly (i.e. doing it right), or you'll do more harm than good.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3