Sometimes when I practice a riff or solo that I think is hard, it does not matter how long I sit there and play it the same day. I don't improve that much sometimes even if I sit hour after hour. But then when I play the riff again the next day, it's suddenly much easier after practicing the day before. Sometimes it feels like most of the practice starts taking effect the next day. Why is that and how does it work?
I know that there is a huge amount of anecdotal evidence for this, but I don't know whether it has been tested under controlled conditions. It certainly happens to me. It seems that whatever you are trying to learn gets "hard-wired" into your brain over an extended resting period, maybe longer than a day.
It has to do with your brain. Now, i am no scientist, but i have done my reading on the subject from published works of people that deal with the brain. Technique is not in the hands, it is in the brain. When you practice something on your instrument, what you are doing is not making your hands faster or stronger (except fro callouses), but you are feeding your brain signals so it creates/strengthen the neurons in your brain associated with that action. That is why if you practice something poorly and sloppy a lot, your brain will program that and it will be harder to play better. So if you feed your brain the right kind of information, you can improve drastically in a shorter amount of time. When you are sleeping is the time when the brain does most of this work, processing everything you have done that day. So if you practice a riff slowly and perfectly, the chances are that the next day you can play it a bit faster without it being a trouble.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
Yeah you learn while you sleep.