So I am getting relatively serious about writing technical or progressive death metal. Although I have some knowledge of theory, I do not have a whole lot. I want to write things similar to anywhere from Spawn Of Possession, Beyond Creation, Fallujah, or Dissonance In Design. Any ideas on what kinds of scales/modes to use for this?
First of all, what is your writing process? And are you familiar the coventions of the style you want to write in? Before you even start writing any material, start by recreating the sounds of the bands first, distortion of the guitars etc. So you actually hear whatever sounds you create in the timbres you want hear them. As for scales, I don't know , pick one. Messiaen's third mode of limited transposition?
Quote by Derek Woolley
So I am getting relatively serious about writing technical or progressive death metal. Although I have some knowledge of theory, I do not have a whole lot. I want to write things similar to anywhere from Spawn Of Possession, Beyond Creation, Fallujah, or Dissonance In Design. Any ideas on what kinds of scales/modes to use for this?

Along with what the others said, you have to take into account that if you're writing "progressive" music, you hardly want to choose a set of rules by which to abide. You'll find that a lot of good technical and progressive metal never sticks to one mode - not that you can't write a decent prog song that sticks to one mode, but a huge aspect of progressive music is that it's complex. Writing with the sort of complexity that good prog metal uses is a skill that you have to develop over time. i.e. You won't be able to write a good prog metal song just by choosing a scale and playing random notes within it. I speak from experience My "prog metal" songs were total shit when I first started.