Hello everyone,

I've been playing the electric guitar for 5 years for now, with a few numbers of hiatuses and brief breaks (due to school work).. I had never taken music as a serious hobby for myself, but my mind is starting to change now.

I want to invest in something that would last me a lifetime, not something like a beginner's guitar because why buy multiple times when you can just go big and never have to pay again?

Anyways, so here's my specs:

Budget: Maximum of $3000

Favorite artists: Steve Vai is my favorite, then comes Jimi Hendrix, Slash, Eric Clapton, Eddie Van Halen

Preferences: I prefer the traditional Gibson LP shapes, I do not know what neck profiles are... For brands, I'd prefer Fender or Gibson.. # of frets do not really matter for me

Pickups: I really have no idea what humbuckers or single coils do...

New or used: New

Location: Does not really matter, because most guitars in the country I'm living in have lotta guitars

Current gear: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/esp-ltd-h-401fm-electric-guitar

Thank you for your time
"[...] because why buy multiple times when you can just go big and never have to pay again?"
Because no one guitar can truly do it all, and because tastes change over time. This is especially true if you aren't already taking it as a serious hobby. To strengthen that point, I don't know of any one guitar that can cover that much ground- Ibanez, Fender, and Gibson sounds in one guitar might just be damn well non-existent.