I've been playing 6's for nearly 10 years now and feel that it's time to get a 7-string since I listen to a lot of djent/deathcore music. I have a Schecter Damien Elite-6 that I slapped 13's on and use as a baritone guitar and I am extremely pleased with how well it stays in tune (After I adjusted the truss rod to stop it from bowing). I would like to stay with Schecter for this very reason, would a new Schecter Omen Extreme-7 ($429.00) or a used Schecter JL-7 in good condition on guitarcenter.com ($449.99) be a better option for starting in the 7-string range? I've been playing 6's for nearly 10 years now and feel that
The JL-7 is definitely the better guitar. I've also heard rave reviews of the KM-7 if you want to go for the passive pickups and ebony board.
Quote by TheStig1214
The JL-7 is definitely the better guitar. I've also heard rave reviews of the KM-7 if you want to go for the passive pickups and ebony board.

There aren't any KM-7's that are in my price range though, if there were, I'd pick that one in a heartbeat. I'm a much bigger Keith Merrow fan than Jeff Loomis. Both are very skillful though.
Out of those two choices the JL-7 is the one to go to. Also check out the LTD AW-7(all mahogany, neck thru, dimarzio pups) . i managed to score mine for 500$ after taxes from guitar centers used section. Would be a good alternative to comapre to the KM-7 mentioned above. Only difference will be the AW-7 has a shorter scale length comapred to the Loomis and KM.
Last edited by ltdguy27 at Oct 30, 2014,
Quote by ltdguy27
Out of those two choices the JL-7 is the one to go to. Also check out the LTD AW-7(all mahogany, neck thru, dimarzio pups) . i managed to score mine for 500$ after taxes from guitar centers used section. Would be a good alternative to comapre to the KM-7 mentioned above. Only difference will be the AW-7 has a shorter scale length comapred to the Loomis and KM.

I'll definitely have to check that out!