Good afternoon,

I've been playing (or rather making a noise) for around 6 years, I have never had any lessons and have stuck to learning songs. I really enjoy blues music but find it extremely hard to play outside of the first position of the minor scale and combine my noodling with some chords. What I aspire to do is be able to improvise and play chords/lead work together much like the gentlemen in this video (particularly around the 10:00 minute mark). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlzfR9Oe39w

I have limited time to practice and have tried the caged system but didn't get on with it, could anyone recommend any good lessons? as most just seem to cover the first/second position of a minor/major scale. I have tried Jamplay but found the quality to vary between instructors and I didn't really enjoy the structure. I am willing to pay for subscriptions as my work hours vary so I can't commit to lessons.

Kind regards,

Garry
I checked it out at the 10.00 minute mark.
He is basically just improvising a basic 12 bar blues progression in A.
Check out this site to learn the basics
http://www.justinguitar.com
First thing you need to do is learn the dominant 9 chords A9,D9 and E9.
Next you need to get the 12 bar progression ingrained into your memory so that you know exactly where you are at any time whilst you are playing,It should be second nature.
After you know this like the back of your hand you want to learn the Arpeggios(chord tones)for these chords,People miss this out but your blues will be so much better if you know what notes are particularly relevant to the chord that you're suggesting with your single note playing.
Next i would learn that A blues scale all the way up the neck so that you can play anywhere without thinking about it.
On top of this you want to learn your A Major Pentatonic scale,Specially that BB(King)box,This works lovely over the V(5) chord but also works over the root chord well.