Hey guys,
Hopefully by the end of this year I should be able to buy a new Schecter guitar to play with, however, I still want to keep my first guitar even though it's in pretty bad condition.

Here's the thing, I want to shove some new pickups in it and paint it, as I don't like the current suburst design it has on it, BUT, the problem is that when I started playing the strap came of and the guitar fell to the floor taking a chunk of paint and wood off of the bottom and back of the guitar.

Now, I read that sanding down a guitar right down to the wood is very tiring and a long task to do, so, how to I get it to smooth out with no dips in the finish? Because I think if I just spray it without getting rid of that dent in the rest of the finish it'll be uneven and look terrible.

Do I use filler o glue or something like that? And then sand it down to be level with the paint? Or is there a less tiring (and afordable) way to sand off all the paint?

Help please, thanks in advance.
Depending on the place and shape of the chunk that came off, it may be worth cutting a clean slot on the body and filling it with a piece of wood that fits snugly on the slot, then carving it to match the body's shape.

If it's just a small dent, wood filler may get the job done.

But refinishing a guitar is a really long process, and it requires practice and knowledge to be able to achieve great results, so if it's your first project don't set high hopes expecting a flawless result -- if you do, you'll probably feel disappointed in the end.

First, as you said, you need to sand the guitar body to bare wood.
Then, if the wood has big pores, scratches, dings, etc., you need to level it with filler.
Afterwards, you have to apply the primer. Then the paint.
Once the paint has dried completely, you sand it to make it even.
Finally, you apply the clearcoat, sand it as well to make it even, and finish by polishing it to have that smooth, glass-like appearance.