Hi

I am looking at the TC Electronic BH500 along with two cabs. The options are

2 BC410s
http://www.dawsons.co.uk/tc-electronic-bh500-bc410-with-free-bc410-cab

1 BC410 and 1 BC212
http://www.dawsons.co.uk/tc-electronic-bh500-bc410-with-free-bc212-cab

Which one should I go for and why?

I am new to bass playing and this gear is for gigging. Either small venues 200 people or pubs.

I have a smaller combo amp for home practise.

Regards
Don't mix the cabs.

I'd either go with a pair of 410s or a pair of 212s.
TC Electronic doesn't really publish a good set of specs (leastways not one that I would buy from), but the 410s are 4 ohm cabinets. and the pair of them present a 2 ohm load to the amp. If it's stable at that load, then you'll get the max power out of the amp. The 212s are 8 ohm cabinets, and a pair of them will present a 4 ohm load to the amp, which will probably put out about half (or a bit more) power to that load. Further, the 2x12s are 250W cabinets, the 4x10 will handle 500W.

TC Electronic is not publishing frequency response characteristics for any of that gear (!), but you'll probably find that a 4x10 will actually go just as low as a 2x12 or a 1x15 (don't fall into the beginner trap of listening with your eyes -- the size of a speaker cone has absolutely nothing to do with how low it can go).

The pair of 410s are going to be about 60-65 lbs each to load in, (and the head is another 30 lbs) but honestly, you'll probably find that a single cabinet will do for the majority of your gigs.

I'm running a bass amp head that weighs 10 lbs but that puts out 1500W to a 4 ohm load (Carvin BX1500) and a pair of fEARful 15/6/1's, each of which is an 8 ohm cabinet that will handle about 900W (they weigh in at around 50 lbs). Since the BX1500 puts out 900W@8 ohms, bridged, mono, it's a good match for that single cabinet, and an excellent match when I'm running two cabinets.
Quote by dspellman
Don't mix the cabs.