Before you ask, I have no idea why I did this and no I don't expect that anyone will read it.

Somehow I leave for a month and the forum becomes obsessed with goddamned modes again. This is so 2011 you guys get it together. However, since this is the case and there’s so much misinformation about what modes are regarding definitions and historical context I thought I’d make a thread that addresses some of these things.

I’m not trying to write anything about application or use or how to think about modes or anything else. This thread is just a collection of definitions and a bit LOT of the evolution of modal thinking into tonal thinking. I will never once reference the guitar or guitar techniques because I don’t play it

My intent is not to end discussions about modes because that would obviously never happen. My only hope is [Obi-Wan Kenobi] that some people find this interesting and a tad enlightening.

Little of this is my own. These are not my ideas or opinions. I am not an expert on this (except on the parts that I am). This is information drawn primarily from two sources: a theory textbook (Harmony Through Melody) and a history textbook (Oxford History of Western Music) with some shading from some other sources. I have no agenda. You want to talk about modes, let’s talk about fuckin modes.

This thread got soooooo long and way out of hand. The worst part is I barely scratch the surface of the developments that take place and I've conflated or ignored a lot. It got to the point where I was more writing for myself than you guys because once I started to refresh myself on this stuff I found it really interesting. Anyway, read if you dare.

Here are some definitions that may rustle a couple jimmies. (It’s 2011, remember?)