First off, I am a quite the beginner when it comes to guitar techniques and such. Until now I have either learned covers from YouTube videos (for tougher picking songs) or just learned simple strumming songs. I am self-taught and guitar lessons aren't an option for me at the moment. I want to start playing songs with my own twist on them, and although I can hear it in my head, I have almost no idea how to translate that to picking the strings of my guitar.

I have looked at a couple articles on this website and so far have learned what notes each scale contains and roughly what chords make up each key. The song in particular that I am looking at playing right now is Oblivion by Bastille. When I listen to him singing I can hear D, C, G, E, A, and F notes (in the prechorus). So, I have a couple questions:

If I hear him singing these notes, I am assuming I can simply play those notes and that's that, but that seems pretty boring for this song. So how can I go about playing around those notes and finding a picking pattern that works for this song?

Is there a better way to tune my guitar to play this song in particular? If so what is it and how would I have gone about finding out what that tuning was?

I really appreciate any help, thanks guys!
Try to find which note it resolves nicely to, it's kind of hard to describe, but once you know it you can pick out the key in seconds when listening to it. The song you're talking about is in the key of D minor (or F), so if you wanna make something in key with that, use that scale and play around.
Strumming pattern is whatever you think fits the song, it's not that important.