Hi Everyone,

Longtime guitar player from Denver: I play mostly heavy metal rhythm with some soloing here and there. I just use my gear for recording in the bedroom, no gigging; I was a former studio/live sound engineer, now I do web development but I try to keep my music hobby alive.

Favorite bands to play are Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, old-school Metallica, Ozzy, and Iced Earth. I normally play standard tuning; maybe a 1/2 step down or drop-D once in a rare while but no seven-string stuff.

Guitars:

-Warmoth stratocaster with Seymour Duncan Hot Rails in the bridge, Fender Vintage Noiseless in the middle, Lindy Fralin Vintage Hot Strat in the neck

-ESP EC-1000 with Bare Knuckle Aftermath in the bridge, Bare Knuckle Rebel Yell in the neck

I currently have an Orange Dark Terror that I plug into a Eminence Cannabis Rex 8-ohm speaker inside of a custom-made pine enclosure for my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 1X12 combo. The Fender amp section itself I rarely use anymore except when recording cleans; I usually just plug the speaker into the back of the Orange Dark Terror and riff away.

As much as I love the Dark Terror, frankly it sounds a bit hairy and fuzzy at higher gains. This isn't really a problem when playing Iron Maiden stuff with my strat, but when I want to play some American metal like Metallica's Blackened, Holier Than Thou or Iced Earth stuff, the fuzzy sound doesn't really do it for me. It has that same problem when I play the ESP through it as well. I'd like to have that nice full-bodied "chunk" without the British fuzz, so I'm in the market for another lunchbox all-tube head.