Hey so let me start off saying I am new to this forum, and this is my first post so I apologize in advance if this thread exists already or is in the wrong section.
Moving on, yesterday I got a gorgeous Ibanez RG450M in jestsream green. Problem is I've never set up a guitar with a locking tremolo before. After a whole lot of trial and error with the strings popping out of the bridge, I finally got them to stay in. That part's done, but when I tune to pitch it's sticking way up, and the action is insanely high (tension feels way too tight too). It came with D'addario strings, 10's I believe (could've been 9's) but I had a new set of strings (D'addario 10-52 light heavy set) and I figured what the heck, I'll put 'em on. I'm not sure if that gauge difference would affect anything, like I said this is my first time with a tremolo. anyway, I got it tuned up to standard, and it kept consistently going out (more than a guitar with a Tune-o-matic would) and the bridge was still higher than Bob Marley on Earth day. So I opened up the back, and went to tighten the spring adjustment screws like it said in the manual and everywhere else I looked. They were already in pretty far, I don't want to push anything to a breaking point, and like I said the strings were already very very tight. I noticed something though, the screw on the right wasn't parallel to the one on the left, which is quite clearly straight (I'll post a photo below). Is that something I should get looked at, or something that will affect anything on my guitar?
Lastly, if there's an in depth set up guide (no stone unturned) for this specific tremolo, I'd love to take a look at it because I honestly couldn't find one.
Anyways, sorry for the ridiculously long first post, I'm just lookin to avoid paying $30 for a full set up at guitar center.
Attachments:
image1.JPG
That screw, while indeed crooked, won't cause any problems. It just holds the claw in place.